VERICUT Users' Forum

Due to relentless spammers, we are no longer automatically accepting new forum registrations. If you wish to register for this forum, please send an e-mail to: info@cgtech.com

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-10 17:29:23

mjrvericut
Member
Registered: 2014-04-23
Posts: 12

STP modeled cutters that can reference existing optipath libraries

The ability to import manufacturer models via stp import is great!  However, the new stp modeled tool cannot reference an optipath setting for the same sketched tool if that optipath setting was developed with a sketched tool prior to my being able to import the stp of the tool.

In my case, I have a brand "x" tool that was sketched years ago.  This tool has rouging and finishing optipath settings that are used daily.  The manufacturer now provides an stp of the tool, which is easily brought into Vericut.  However, this stp of the tool cannot be ran in optipath using the existing optipath library that has been around for a long time.  A new optipath library has to be created for the stp version of the tool.

In my opinion, it'd be more user friendly if I could download the new model and reference the optipath library settings I already have set up for this tool.

Offline

#2 2017-08-02 18:33:23

Verifun
Senior Member
From: U.S.
Registered: 2005-03-31
Posts: 351
Website

Re: STP modeled cutters that can reference existing optipath libraries

This is already possible in VERICUT, and it is how we work here:

Create a Master Library and put there all holders, cutters, parametric objects, etc... all as children of regular tools.

In other TLS libraries, we reference the models we created in the master library.

Whenever we change something in the master library, all libraries referencing components from it are updated.


Daniel Santos

Offline

#3 2017-08-02 21:15:54

vhubbard
Beta User
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: 2004-11-11
Posts: 220
Website

Re: STP modeled cutters that can reference existing optipath libraries

Try making the "Description" the same on the new tool as the old one. 

Optipath settings used to attach to a tool by the "Description" field, not the tool ID or definition.   Many years ago our software that generated Vericut tools only put in brief, often repetitive Descriptions.   It caused havoc with Optipath testing until we figured it out.

Offline

#4 2017-08-24 13:34:41

mjrvericut
Member
Registered: 2014-04-23
Posts: 12

Re: STP modeled cutters that can reference existing optipath libraries

I am able to use my stp models by using the method Daniel suggested for my Ball End Mills, however with inserted feedmill type cutters.  I get a message on the logger that says that "concave cutters cannot be used for constant chip thickness calculation"  The cutter does seem to work in Vericut OK if I change the setting in optipath from constant chip method to volume removal method.  I'm not sure what the real consequence of changing to volume removal method will be, I will have to try it in a machine.

Thanks!

Offline

#5 2019-04-12 13:21:07

Verifun
Senior Member
From: U.S.
Registered: 2005-03-31
Posts: 351
Website

Re: STP modeled cutters that can reference existing optipath libraries

mjrvericut wrote:

I am able to use my stp models by using the method Daniel suggested for my Ball End Mills, however with inserted feedmill type cutters.  I get a message on the logger that says that "concave cutters cannot be used for constant chip thickness calculation"  The cutter does seem to work in Vericut OK if I change the setting in optipath from constant chip method to volume removal method.  I'm not sure what the real consequence of changing to volume removal method will be, I will have to try it in a machine.

Thanks!

I hear you... but I think it has nothing to do with the fact is a referenced component...It's supposed to happen with a non referenced component as well...


Daniel Santos

Offline

Board footer